Breaking News

Banchharampur upazila, Brahmanbaria, Awami League-backed candidate Nurul Islam was unofficially declared elected chairman

voteAssistant Returning Officer Zahid Hossain Siddique said Nurul Islam bagged 122,043 votes, while his his nearest rival independent candidate Sayeed Uddin Khan Zabed got 10,071 votes and BNP-backed candidate Mahbub Hasan Babu got 5,926 votes.

Awami League’s Mintu Ranjan Saha was elected as vice-chairman, receiving 120,678 votes against nearest
rival Shafiqul Islam, who bagged 11,025 votes.

Joly Amir of Awami League was elected as vice-chairperson, bagging 101,115 votes against independent candidate Sonia Akter Suchi with 35,654 votes.

In Sherpur, BNP-backed candidate and former upazila chairman Mahbub Ali Chowdhury alias Munir Chowdhury was unofficially declared elected chairman in Nakla upazila, our district correspondent reports.

He bagged 22,320 votes, while his nearest rival Jubo League leader Munir Hossain got 16,145 votes.

Awami League’s Sarwar Alam Talukder was elected as vice-chairman, while BNP-backed candidate Dewan Kohinur was elected as vice-chairperson. Sarwar got 22,211 votes, while Kohinur bagged 27,162 votes.

Voting started at 8am and continued until 4pm without any break. However, voter turnout was low due to fear of violence. There were a total of 132,604 voters in Nakla upazila.

Seven candidates contested for the post of chairman, while three candidates for the post of vice-chairman and five candidates for the post of female vice-chairperson. Two BNP and three Awami League rebel candidates contested in the elections.

Follow us on Facebookschliessen