Breaking News

6th phase upazila polls underway included Bijoynagar of Brahmanbaria


Voting in 12 more upazila parishads of eight districts is underway peacefully on Monday. 

The voting began at 8am and will continue till 4pm without any break.

A total of 179 candidates are contesting the elections against 36 posts in the 12 upazilas.

Of them, 61 are chairman candidates and 69 vice chairman contenders, and 49 vice chairman candidates for the posts set aside for women.

The upazilas are : Sadar, Kaunia, Gangachara and Peergachha of Rangpur district, Kamarkhand of Sirajganj, Taltoli of Barguna, Kalukhali of Rajbari, Sadar of Gazipur, Basail of Tangail,  Bijoynagar of Brahmanbaria and Adarsha Sadar and Sadar South of Comilla district.

Some 2,000 members of law enforcement agencies, including 7,000 police personnel, will ensure security in the 12 upazilas during the voting.

Of 487 upazilas across the country, elections to 97 upazilas was held on February 19 in first phase while 117 upazilas on February 27 in second phase, 83 upazilas on March 15 in third phase, 92 upazilas on March 23 and 73 upazilas in fifth phase on March 31.


Follow us on Facebookschliessen